Chick Wars

I have been a long time customer of Chick-Fil-A.  They make a delicious chicken meal at a reasonable price.  Their employees are always courteous and helpful, and their restaurants are always clean.  The only drawback for me, is that they are closed on Sundays.  The reason for that is the Christian values of the family that owns the chain.  My day to be off is Saturday, but I respect the beliefs and values their being closed on Sundays represent.  I would imagine they would be respectful of my beliefs and values as well.

Recently there has been a ban on Chick-Fil-A by a gay rights lobby because the Chick-Fil-A president said he does not believe in gay marriage.  He is entitled to his opinion, just as the gay community is entitled to theirs.  He is entitled to voice his opinion just as the gay community is free to voice theirs.  After all, what do you expect people with Christian values and beliefs to say about gay marriage?  They represent Biblical values, and should not be expected to abandon them to pacify people they honestly believe are wrong.  Yelling louder and enacting boycotts doesn’t make someone more right than someone else.

I guess what I object to is not gays, but the political agenda the gay lobby is trying to ram down our throats.  If something is going to be rammed down my throat, I choose a Chick-Fil-A sandwich.  It’s not about gay rights.  I am not against gay rights.  Gays have the right to their jobs, and should have the same rights as everyone else.  The current boycott seems to be about pushing the gay agenda on the more than 90% of us that are not gay.  They didn’t fire someone who happened to be gay because they are gay, they just expressed an opinion about gay marriage.  They have every right to object to that.  The last time I checked, we still have freedom of thought, and the right to our own opinions.

The mayor of Chicago said he wants to ban Chick-Fil-A from his city because of this breach in political correctness.  Can you imagine the uproar if he wanted to ban a gay company from doing business in Chicago?  There would be a political and media frenzy.

Its not just about gays and gay rights.  There are other sacred cows in the politically correct pantheon.  God forbid you voice a pro-life opinion.  If you even hint that abortion is wrong for any reason, at any point in the pregnancy, people look at you like you are a pea-brained idiot.  The same is true for affirmative action issues.  My point is not to challenge any of those things, but simply to object to being pressured into holding and expressing opinions other than my own. 

I am getting sick and tired of people bending over backwards to be politically correct at the expense of morality and doing the right thing.  No matter what you think about gay rights, condemning Chick-Fil-A for having and expressing an honest opinion other than the gay agenda is wrong.  I wonder why no one is condemning the gay lobby for calling for a boycott?  If I boycott anti-Israel companies, people denounce me as a bigot.  Why isn’t the gay agenda bigoted?  Is it just that they are the approved bigots?

What appears to me to be caving into pressure, the Jim Henson Company pulled their toys from Chick-Fil-A kids meals and donated the proceeds to a pro-gay organization.  They are free to do what they want to do with their money, just as I am free to do what I want with mine.  I’ll be spending mine at Chick-Fil-A.

15 thoughts on “Chick Wars

  1. If something is going to be rammed down my throat, I choose a Chick-Fil-A sandwich.” CLASSIC! I agree, Rabbi. If people want to not purchase from Chick-Fil-A, they are free to make that decision. I have certain products that I do not buy any more because I cannot support the policies of the company owners. Let each person make their own decision based on their beliefs. Most people have NO IDEA what the companies they buy from support. Mayors getting involved is a gross overstepping of their boundaries, and I can’t imagine any mayor turning jobs away from their city in this economy. This issue has people so messed up they are not thinking straight (no pun intended).

    • Thanks Sue, I couldn’t agree with you more. I am not against people voting with their pocketbooks. I do the same. I have a problem with the political activism associated with it and Chick-Fil-A being painted as the bad guy for sticking to their values. They didn’t do anything to the gay community. They just voiced their opinion. When people can’t voice their opinions, we are in trouble. I loved the unintended pun. Be well.

  2. People seem to love filth and depravity…we need to stand up for what is right and moral and the people that are brave enough to do this.
    Mr. Cathy …God Bless you.

  3. It is true that most patrons who frequent various retail locations do not have any idea what the board of directors of those organizations have voted to support. I wonder, if it were made known which retailers support gay rights causes, would the Christian right hold protest rallies and kiss in’s and demand that the doors be closed at each of these locations? Where is the logic? Where is the limit? Why the intimidation? Live and let live. With all the rights of the gay community increasing, why do they seek to remove the basic right of free speech from others?

  4. You wrote “…Ido object to that….” It looks as if you object to Chick-fil-A having an opinion against homosexual marriage. I suspect a typo, because I don’t think that is what you meant to say.

    This is an opportunity for those of us who do take God seriously to step up and support one another. We never eat at Chick-fil-A, not because we don’t like it, but just because we don’t seem to be there when it’s time to eat. That will change. We will now go out of our way to eat there, just to show support.

    By the way, I have had a gay marriage for 54 years, with a WOMAN. We are quite gay a lot of the time, but we are not homosexual. The homosexuals stole my word, presumably because they are ashamed to call their sin what it is. They practice homosexuality, not gayness.

    Dave

  5. Your posts are always a splendid display in an understated manner. Your words are measured, pressed down, shaken together and running over with truth and passion. I appreciate that and have a lot to learn.

Leave a Reply

