What is Sin?

sinOnce again, I found myself being accosted by a well-meaning Christian telling me that smoking cigars is a sin. She is from another culture and country, where smoking is believed to be a sin. I don’t blame her, as she is speaking out of a religious culture that has decreed smoking to be sinful. Yet it makes me ponder the question, “Is sin subjective?”

The answer is not so simple. According to Scripture, where sin is defined, smoking is not a sin. After all, smoking didn’t exist in Biblical times. Christians, to be fair, tried to make application from scripture, and they quote the passages that call our bodies “temples of the Holy Spirit.” The question really comes down to whether or not the application is proper regarding the scripture. I could easily point out that we abuse our bodies with too many carbohydrates and sugars that threaten our bodies far more than smoking does. When I consider the chemicals we put in our bodies, they are as bad or worse than smoking, yet I don’t see people blackballing those things like they do tobacco use. I don’t want to become a tobacco advocate, but I don’t see the fairness in singling out smoking as the sinful thing people make it out to be.

From a Jewish perspective, smoking is not a sin. It is not food, its not drink. It’s smoke. Sin is defined by the Torah. Much of what is spoken against is the wrong way we treat other people. Sinning against another person is far more serious than when a person enjoys a cigar. Other sins which involve things people consume involve foods. Eating forbidden animals like pork, or shellfish are clearly sins in scripture. The things that the Torah forbids are sin. These are the things Sha’ul spoke of in the letter to the Romans as sin. He said that without the Law, we would have no knowledge of sin. One of the functions of the Torah was to define what things are sins. The Psalms and Proverbs make applications from the Torah as to what sin is. Christians who condemn cigars which do not violate scripture think nothing of eating foods forbidden by the Torah. In my opinion, they are misunderstanding scripture when they eat forbidden animals, but that is their business.

The reality is, not everyone likes cigars. At this time in our culture, smoking is politically incorrect. That incorrectness does not make it a sin. I go far out of my way to not offend others. I don’t smoke around non-smokers. I don’t smoke in their homes, and do not smoke in my own home. I find cigars relaxing and soothing, but I don’t inflict my pleasure on others who might not enjoy being around me when I do it. If I did that, I could understand it being a sin.

Another question that needs to be addressed is, “Does culture have the right to define what is a sin?” Yes and no. A culture has the right to decide what is acceptable behavior within its own community. If people in a culture decide smoking is a sin, then for them, it is. They do not have the right to negate the scriptures, and declare the word of God, null and void for the sake of its traditions. Yeshua was clear about that, but they do have the right to declare proper behavior within their own culture as long as it doesn’t violate Scripture. I don’t live in Christian culture, I live in Jewish culture, and cigars may or may not be liked, but in our culture, its not a sin.

I am reminded of well-respected Christian leaders who smoked; like C.H Spurgeon and C. S. Lewis. When I point this out to Christians, they say it was before smoking was known to be harmful. Ironically, these same people will use artificial sweeteners, and consume foods with preservatives and GMO’s. Those things are known to be harmful, yet they continue their consumption. What it really comes down to, is that they don’t like smoking. Calling anything we don’t like, “a sin,” also is a violation of Scripture. A friend of mine defined cult behavior as holding the view that when God hates the same people or behavior that you do, its cultic. We are supposed to accept God’s definition of sin, not ask God to accept ours. Either we are being shaped by the Scripture, or the Scripture is being shaped by our definitions. The concepts of submission and humility demand that we submit to the Word of God and not the other way around. Smoking won’t send someone to hell, and not smoking will not send them to heaven. I’m not claiming to never sin. I do. But when I realize it, I try to make amends and do better. Cigars, be they unacceptable to many, are not sinful, at least not as far as I can see.

24 thoughts on “What is Sin?

  1. I agree. I am a Christian with a humidor full of tasty cigars. Your point of the dietary restrictions is a valid example.
    The Bible teaches that all things are free to me as a follower of Christ but not all are beneficial. An example is given in 1 Corinthians 8 about the freedom to eat food associated with idols. If a person has an issue of conscience, then they should not partake. I, as their brother or sister in Christ, should not cause them to stumble by doing something that they struggle with.
    I think many Christians assert an opposition to cigars and pipes as a matter of their spiritual maturity; I tend to think that it is more an example of their immaturity.
    If a person declares smoking a cigar a sin due to health reasons, then they better declare ice cream a sin also. Obesity kills more people than cigar smoking. I think a failing of many Christians is to classify many activities that are not identified in the scriptures as sin and then overlook the activities that are explicitly stated as sin.
    This is all with the caveat that the smoker is not addicted. Addiction is a whole other topic in my mind.

    • As I understand scripture, meats sacrificed to idols are one thing, but it doesn’t address the issue of forbidden animals. In any case, cigars aren’t a sin, and all the complaining about them won’t make them a sin. I’d love to have one with you some time.

  2. It seems to me that only G-D can determine what is a sin. Man, no matter how far up in the Christian Church he may be, has absolutely no say, and any say that is made is sinful in itself, because it is judgemental, and G-d alone is our judge.

    The only sin I can see in smoking cigars is when it is done so as to offend others with the smoke and/or odors. Such offense would be a violation of the so-called Golden Rule. Rabbi, you have smoked many cigars at my house, and you were always scrupulously careful not to offend.

    Some say cigars are not good for you, and that makes then sinful. I’m sorry, but what you choose to smoke is nobody’s business but yours.

    Dave

  3. you need to think about whether smoking cigars praise God. Let’s face it. Is it beneficial? For our health? Cygaro harm the stomach and teeth, which are very yellow. Who the smoke goes up? Who praises? cigarette smokers who praise or cigars or obżerających the meat or other distortion? There is no Bible says to do so. There is no such commandment, therefore, what is useful is good and what is not useful and the same person who smokes a cigar as well as for those who gave up smoking because of Yeshua. I think that everything that is bad for our health is not good or right and weakened, I think we have a lead life in the spirit and not in body. Of course, you can not be so hypocritical that one push and hide other things. Every sin is a sin is it against the body, soul, spirit, or else to man – I think smoking question fall into sin. We have to live in the Truth in Messiah and give the glory to God in spirit and in the truth.

    • Cukinia – you are entitled to your views. I think you are wrong, and you did not understand what I wrote. It is not hypocritical to smoke cigars. It is hypocritical to pretend cigars are sins, while ignoring the real sins in your life. How do you treat others? Who are you judging? WHo have you not forgiven? This is why Yeshua said, “let him who is without sin, cast the first stone.” You need to stop casting stones and think about your own actions and be humble instead of criticizing others. C.H. Spurgeon said, “When I have found intense pain relieved, a weary brain soothed and calm refreshing sleep obtained by a cigar, I have felt grateful to God, and have blessed His name.” I feel the same way. Yeshua said, Judge not, lest YOU be judged. Stop judging and be the person Yeshua wants you to be.

  4. Dear Rabbi Michael Shciffman I understand and agree the majority by the way what is a sin. :). Interesting article .. too. It’s not about the hypocrisy of people who smoke. The point that I understand and know what’s going on with the hypocrisy-some criticize something but they are not so very great in other areas. The point is that smoking is addictive. a lot of people praying for deliverance from addiction. I do not want to cling to, and not what I’m saying is that only if it is harmful and freeing it is a sin..I only pay attention to the fact that it is not a building, Paul wrote that if he offended someone, wine, meat – that he would not be doing all the days of her-I do not know how to cigarettes – because it is a habit but I think this is not I think about holiness.as someone enters into a cigarette or cigar may have lung cancer, and if not it might have stomach cancer, my grandfather got stomach cancer – smoking a pipe.

  5. post scriptum…says the commandment not to kill-if fast or slow is what’s the difference if the two cases lead to diseases or cancer, yellow teeth – or anyone you do not wish. You have to take care of your health. Supergeon was an interesting man but years ago there have been no studies about this and now know that it is harmful and addictive – so, right?

    • actually, Cigars are not addictive like cigarettes, because Cigarettes are infused with addicting chemicals. Cigars are natural, and they are not inhaled. I am sorry about your grandfather’s cancer. My grandfather smoked cigars and lived to be 100. Eating the wrong foods can also lead to cancer. I honestly believe you and others are being selective in your criticism of cigars because you don’t like it. You don’t have to like it. There are many things I don’t like, but I overlook them because the people are more important to me than the things I don’t like. If someone smokes cigars, but doesn’t do it around you, you have no right to criticize them. When you call something a sin that the bible clearly does NOT call a sin, you are adding to the scripture, and that is a sin.

  6. In actually, the track says: lo tirtzah -not murder, Talmud extends and expands it – that anyone embarrasses your neighbor – that sheds blood and yet it is forbidden. It is written in the sixth commandment. He writes that we do not have to ask my be murderers – because why would you destroy someone’s soul, which you are not the creator? In actually smoke cigar is not Jewish culture, this is from not many years in the world, I am Jewish and I know that this is not Jewish culture. I am believer in Yeshua . If it says we have a lead life according to the Spirit, it is not yet walking flesh – the cravings of the body – they must give to God. I know many testimonies of Jews and non-Jews, who were released from it, and I think that such provocations on smoke not serve anything. You do not see this Yeshua and there’s redemption and salvation, why someone would rob and deprive someone of the right. This seems to be against Christianity. I can I’m not, because I do not celebrate Christian holidays but these biblical things and God calls to separate the sole property of me not to do such things, if smoking – smoking is associated at all, and is associated with ghosts, because things were burned over the years but to cast a trance and listening to different voices and spirits is how it can be a good testimony – no it is not for me and for many people, I think it is a gate permit is sin and that people are doing, so if Michael loved by you, it is not a sin, why not have several wives? but actually, it’s even Judaism says that it was permitted but really it was a sin, but to divorce his wife and take divorcee or another, so to some extent in favor of science Yeshua, I think we have to go his way and in his footsteps and he shows and showed how to give glory to God, even if the evangelist from England lave cigars and finally understood why others would not understand their repro that smoking is associated with something other than incense to God in prayer and in the temple as it was done and it was Ha Shem our incense, the smoke of these things are made not God and can fit in people who smoke or who want to smoke but these people are the problem, not people who do not smoke. In fact, I’m glad that this issue has been addressed, it shows me some things and dimension of the Torah and Tanach and the New Covenant. I know what is kosher and I know that the Torah establishes what is sin and what is not, and that these requirements paths for our lives were but Jeshua nailed them to the cross-debt letter that burdened us with your requirements. I am now in Messiah response to the fact that this or that I do not and I do not and I will not and cannot. In Him we have everything, he shows what is true, because he himself is the Truth. I think so if one man doing something against the low . Indians smokes and when the another people gave him the wine or wodka then they gave them the something to smoke but Indians doing this to they did it to make himself into a trance and talk with the spirits and not just to give glory to God, this same in another culture , Is wrote so the Jewish People must be holly and the Messiah is the glory of His people. It is clearly written that we must not and we can not kill or shed blood or embarrass someone else, and if it happens as seen in the direction of the Christians is a good or healthy. Our whole life to be a testimony for other people – so for Jews and non-Jews so that people might seek God and not a cigar in shop, in stores :). This is the same with the other teachings of Jesus-Jeshua, and it is one and the same, and for the Jews and for non-Jews – that redemption and salvation in Him from sin and all that goes with it. In the Torah and the Talmud says that if two people (or in a group at a table where they are either talking) has no tracks, no Messiah, no this, no word of God is a table is a table of idolatry – is one example. In turn, reducing the distance between people without the commandments is the Holocaust. Do not reduce the gap – between human beings should always exist and go on and be a commandment, just between us and God, this distance should not be but we have to give him the possibility that we may be close to Him and He with near as . Whether neighbor who is, and how lives far away, the commandments apply to all because it is written in the New Testament that there is nothing more important than compliance with God’s commandments – do you agree with this Dr. Michaella? There is only one true and only one way and that is Yeshua of Nazareth, and only one ha Adon – one Lord of us all – and only one Yeshua is the Messiah – or Yeshua of Nazareth – ha Notzri hence my message. God heals us and wants us to heal., Jeshua can heal everything: body mind spirit, mind, and psyche , brain. . I do not want to scare anyone, for example, but says that if any man defile the temple of God, him shall God destroy the ultimate argument-but here is all that is associated with the sixth commandment, and it is a testimony of our lives to whom we belong and who we are and what and who gave us the commandments of God. Some may already gave to her carnal desires and are deceived by their own passions, and yet the body of God, or Yeshua did not teach us to be quite the followers of God and were his sight and representatives on earth.

    • Cukina,

      I am amused and not a little annoyed that you, whoever you are, have the pomposity, arrogance, and outright temerity to think you are in any position whatsoever, to lecture Rabbi Dr. Schiffman. Your attitude is laughable, and you publicly humiliate and embarrass yourself with your mostly unintelligible ravings.

      The first thing you need to do is go back to about the third grade, and learn the English language, its grammar, and usage. A lot of what you have written is so poorly set forth that, properly read, it is meaningless.

      As an example, I quote from your ravings: “I think so if one man doing something against the low.” Now, what on earth does that sequence mean, if anything? It isn’t a sentence, first of all, and it doesn’t convey any meaning. What is the low? Low is an adjective, which seems to be news to you, and its use here is not descriptive of anything. The following “sentence” about Indians is so bad it sent me into a fit of laughter.

      I could waste more of everybody’s time by going on and on taking your drivel apart, but I’ll stop here and once again suggest you go back, learn sentence structure, AND reread your bible and see if you can figure out what you’re talkig about. Then, after you have received your Doctorate and been properly made a Rabbi, perhaps you might be qualified to DISCUSS these matters with Rabbi Dr. Schiffman in a more intelligent manner, but you will NEVER be qualified to lecture him.

      I would love to deal with your ideas about sin and cigar smoking, but I have no idea what they are.

      • I do not know how this blog works. Titles are interesting. David respond to your post. You write:
        “ David ben Avraham commented on What is Sin?.
        in response to Cukinia:
        In actually, the track says: lo tirtzah -not murder, Talmud extends and expands it – that anyone embarrasses your neighbor – that sheds blood and yet it is forbidden. It is written in the sixth commandment. He writes that we do not have to ask my be murderers – because why would you destroy someone’s […]
        Cukina,
        I am amused and not a little annoyed that you, whoever you are, have the pomposity, arrogance, and outright temerity to think you are in any position whatsoever, to lecture Rabbi Dr. Schiffman. Your attitude is laughable, and you publicly humiliate and embarrass yourself with your mostly unintelligible ravings.
        The first thing you need to do is go back to about the third grade, and learn the English language, its grammar, and usage. A lot of what you have written is so poorly set forth that, properly read, it is meaningless.
        As an example, I quote from your ravings: “I think so if one man doing something against the low.” Now, what on earth does that sequence mean, if anything? It isn’t a sentence, first of all, and it doesn’t convey any meaning. What is the low? Low is an adjective, which seems to be news to you, and its use here is not descriptive of anything. The following “sentence” about Indians is so bad it sent me into a fit of laughter.
        I could waste more of everybody’s time by going on and on taking your drivel apart, but I’ll stop here and once again suggest you go back, learn sentence structure, AND reread your bible and see if you can figure out what you’re talkig about. Then, after you have received your Doctorate and been properly made a Rabbi, perhaps you might be qualified to DISCUSS these matters with Rabbi Dr. Schiffman in a more intelligent manner, but you will NEVER be qualified to lecture him.
        I would love to deal with your ideas about sin and cigar smoking, but I have no idea what they are.”
        My intention was not to offend anyone and is not, and it’s not about that. Dear Rabbi Michael Schiffman is just as human as everyone else. It was only by correcting some things. My English is poor and came misunderstanding – but if David do not understand why are talking? I can give explanations but I’m afraid that would be a very long give You though certainly plenty of evidence of what I write, smoking cigars or cigarettes or anything else, even if it was in other cultures (because it certainly is not Jewish) is even there people prayed for release and abandon this project and cigar smoking or opium, cigarettes, …- everyone who asked that Yeshua is freed them – even though smoking was just in their culture that they stopped doingit . Of course I will study English to write better to anyone Shlom , Cukinia

  7. postscript
    The sixth commandment is written six letters shows that they do not receive a living man, who is created in the image of God and if it happens it happens and that the killer (no matter who) attacked a man, people, communities that are in some way a reflection of the essence God, it says in turn that the person who spills human blood (even by shaming it public or personal, putting him in a position or situation) – is also a man who shed the blood will be shed , the sixth commandment goes somewhat hand in hand the first commandment, which says HaShem Anochi Elokecha – Shem ha I am your God.

  8. My intention was not to offend anyone and is not, and it’s not about that. Rabbiis just as human as everyone else. It was only by correcting some things. My English is poor and came misunderstanding – but if David do not understand why are talking? I can give explanations but I’m afraid that would be a very long give You though certainly plenty of evidence of what I write, smoking cigars or cigarettes or anything else, even if it was in other cultures (because it certainly is not Jewish) is even there people prayed for release and abandon this project and cigar smoking or opium, cigarettes, …- everyone who asked that Yeshua is freed them – even though smoking was just in their culture that they stopped doingit . Of course I will study English to write better to anyone Shlom , Cukinia

  9. writes …. not murder and bloodshed (physically and shame anyone)
    if someone makes it against believers of other groups to cause public ridicule or embarrass them it is a sin. … says that we have to build and not destroy each other or kill and humiliate one another and it is for such a reason. It is better not to do certain things for the love of one’s neighbor, not killing no shedding of blood (physical or causing someone gets pale) or causing a public shaming or blog. So I think as I write is something that builds and something about the Messiah, something that will be good for everyone and are prey only Gentiles dedicated by the Holy Spirit that they smell nice, pleasant scent to God – not just the Jews worse, the Messiah, they are all one and there is not a Jew UP not a Jew, Greek, Scythian or a slave … but the Christ is all and in all. in churches and Jews are Jews and not all are consecrated and – there’s no way for someone to smoke or do such things, especially in Messianic (which is a high shelf) it is about holiness, which is the pride of the people of God, the Messiah is the glory the people of God. We have to thing about all people to them is only one word and is only one Messiah 🙂 you agree…with them? I have not time so much but I have in this one moment. shlom.

  10. I agree that smoking cigars, cigarettes and pipe tobacco are generally not considered to be a sin in scripture. On the other hand, if one smokes in front of someone knowing it will offend that person, that would be arrogance and could be considered a sin in the Word of God. The following is what I’ve been taught and persuaded to believe regarding the overall big picture of what sin means in the Word of God.

    Sin – A condition of man that constitutes part of the barrier between man and God. Scripture reveals three categories of sin: Imputed Sin, Inherent Sin, and Personal sin. Imputed Sin: God credits to every member of the human race the responsibility and penalty for Adam’s sin (Romans 5:12; Romans 5:18-19; 1 Corinthians 15:22). Inherent Sin (sin nature): Every person inherits a sinful capacity that causes and leads him to commit personal acts of sin (Romans 6:6; Romans 7:17-18; Ephesians 4:22). Personal Sin: Any mental (thought), verbal (word), or overt activity (deed) that violates the character, standards, and will of God. (Romans 3:23; Mark 7:20-23; Romans 6:12-13; 2 Corinthians 10:5; James 3:5-6).

    Sin Nature – The sin nature was originally acquired by Adam at his fall after he sinned. Everyone since Adam and Eve has been born with an Old Sin Nature, passed down to all mankind in procreation (1 Timothy 2:13-14; Romans 5:12; Ephesians 2:1; Psalm 51:5) It is an integral part of every human being. At birth, God imputes Adam’s original sin to the sin nature (Romans 5:12), resulting in spiritual death (Psalm 58:2-5; Matthew 15:19), the Sovereignty of the sin nature over human life (Romans 6:12), and total depravity of all humanity (Jeremiah 17:9; Psalm 58:2-5; Matthew 15:19), except Jesus Christ. It is the source of temptation to commit sin, human good, and evil inherent in human beings; the center of rebellion toward God when in control of the soul. The sin nature is composed of an area of strength which produces human good, an area of weakness which produces Personal sin, trends toward legalism or antinomianism, and lust patterns. Because of the virgin birth, Jesus Christ was born without a sin nature. The Old Sin Nature is referred to by specific nomenclature: the Flesh (Romans 8:3-4; Galatians 6:12; John 3:6; Ephesians 2:3), Old Man (Ephesians 4:22; Colossians 3:9; Romans 6:6), carnal ( Romans 7:14; 1 Corinthians 3:3; Romans 8:6-8), the principle of Sin (Romans 5:12; Romans 6:12; Romans 7:14; 1 John 1:8; Psalm 51:5), and Heart ( Matthew 12:34; Matthew 15:19; Jeremiah 17:9; Psalm 58:2-5; Mark 7:21-23). The Old Sin Nature causes mankind to be desperately (“incurably”) wicked (Jeremiah 17:9) and, at best, produces human good (Isaiah 64:6).

  11. I am sorry, but cigar smoking is bad for your health. Yes, sugar and carbs are bad for you as well, but pointing out “bigger” sin of others in no way nullifies your “smaller” ones. It constantly amazes me how easy it is for smokers to dismiss smoking as not a sin but point out the sin of over-eaters; over-eaters dismiss eating as sin, but point out the sin of those who drink; and drinkers dismiss the idea that alcohol consumption may be a sin, but point out the sin of smokers.

    I wonder if the original writer (and most of the responders) would have the same attitude if they did not enjoy cigars. I don’t know if it’s a sin. But the fact that someone feels the need to pushing the focus onto over-eating or other “semi-sin” tells me that there is some guilt involved.

    • Susan, just because you don’t like something, doesn’t make it a sin. Why do you confuse sin with healthy or unhealthy items being consumed? It is typical of people who don’t use the Torah as their guide to have a very subjective idea of what is or is not sin. The Torah is very clear as to what is sin. The New Testament teaches the role of the Torah is to teach what sin is. Adding your own additions is a lie. I never said cigars were healthy, did I? I simply said its not a sin. Accusing people of guilt because they aren’t willing to be attacked and bullied by non-smokers is laughable. As long as a smoker doesn’t blow the smoke in your face, you have no right to thrust your opinions on them. I think you need to keep your definitions of sin more biblical, and grow up.

      • And just because you like something doesn’t make it NOT a sin. I believe anything we do that is unhealthy or damaging to the human body is a sin. I believe we are to care for our bodies as the temple of God. That is my belief.

        And I don’t see anyone bullying anyone, unless you are very sensitive. I was merely stating what I believe. In fact, I specifically said that I do not know if it’s a sin. I believe that cigars are far less damaging than cigarettes, and equally less annoying to others. I am not thrusting my opinions on anyone. It was a logical assumption that by posting your opinions on the site, you were inviting discussion. I didn’t realize you were merely looking for like-minded individuals to shore up your arguments. For someone who believes scripture is on his side, you are very defensive.

        Since you are obviously unable to discuss this with any objectivity and without personal attacks, I will leave you to play in your sandbox with the other children.

      • Susan, you missed my point, perhaps because I didn’t express it adequately. I’ve had many people respond to the question regarding what is sin solely on their personal likes or dislikes. I was tired, and just came off a 19 hour drive, so if I was testy, please forgive me. I did not attack you personally. I may not be the only one who is sensitive.

        The point of the post, is that sin is a technical term for a violation of Torah, but people have co-opted the meaning of the word to denote whatever they personally object to or consider socially unacceptable. When it comes to cigars, I consider them the least dangerous of forms of tobacco use. There are so many notions of what is healthy and what is not, and they change from decade to decade, that I have a hard time taking my cues from the health community regarding definitions of what sin is. As to the point about our bodies being the temple of the Holy Spirit, the point of the text is not so much a matter of bodily health, but that the place where we meet God is in our bodies, making the body our temple. The point of a temple is not the building, but the One you meet therein. Your body eventually goes bad on you, one way or the other. Some people have made a religion out of taking care of their bodies, to the point of obsession. I think our time is better spent in how we live our lives, and use our time and energies and bodies for good. I believe in taking care of ourselves, but its not all there is.

  12. People use the debate that if something is harmful then it is a sin. They say, smoking causes cancer and is a sin. Sodas cause diabetes and it is a sin. Fast food causes obesity and it is a sin. I myself am a christian, i read the bible. I dont know much about the jewish religion but i feel safe to say that most(if not all) religions have the belief that the God they worship is the creator of all things. In the bible, it says that God created the heavens and the earth. God created all things that come from the earth. The sun in the sky was created by God to give warmth and light, but studies have proven that uv rays given off by the sun cause skin cancer. Would people then be able to safely say that going out into the sun is a sin because it can be harmful to our bodies! Crude oil also comes from the earth, studies have also shown that oil coming into contact with the body can cause harm over time. Does it then mean that using oil is now a sin as well? What about where the bible says i give you all the plants of the earth and they shall be good for you? Tobacco itself does no harm, its the (man made) chemicals we put into tobacco that cause the harm!

Leave a Reply

